Our School Board
Our school board is comprised of five members. Each member represents our primary communities in Prince William Sound. One is located in Chenega, two in Tatitlek and two in Whittier.

Charlene Arneson

Board Chair President – Whittier

School Board member for nineteen years.
Moved to Whittier, Alaska in 1964
2008-2018 Alaska Association of School Boards Board of Directors
2010 AASB Outstanding School Board Member of Alaska.

Charlene supports Alaskan education through participation in AASB conferences, academies, and legislative fly-ins. She proudly supports AASB efforts in advocating for children and youth by assisting school boards providing quality public education.

An overarching goal for Mrs. Arneson is to promote the school district’s Shared Purpose. She wants to empower all students to take ownership of their learning and success. Charlene is a strong advocate for AASB and CSD programs including the district’s residential Voyage School. She is not only dedicated to the CSD students, but all students across our state. Advocating for education to ensure that each student can achieve to their full potential is one of Charlene’s greatest strengths!

Nanci Robart

Board Vice Chair – Tatitlek

Nanci was born in Cordova and raised in the village of Tatitlek. She is a strong community advocate and leader serving on the board of the Tatitlek Corporation and as the President of the Tatitlek Council. She is also a Behavioral Health Aid and Community Health Representative with Chugachmiut, an organization which provides health, social services, and education to the Chugach Native people. Equally important to Nanci is her role as the mother of 3 great children, Benjamin, Lydia, and Talya. She is a great role model for all of the children in the village. She has served on the school board since 2018.

David Totemoff

Member – Tatitlek

David is a lifelong resident of Tatitlek with a passion for education. He had to delay his own high school education for two years until room opened up at Mount Edgecumbe and he was able to continue. David has a clear focus that everything that the board does needs to be based on the needs of our children. He has been a continued strong leader in the community and region serving on the Chugach Alaska board and previously as the president of the Tatitlek Council. He is a commercial fisherman and regularly supports the community with his catch. David has served on the school board since 2015.

Frankie Graham

Member – Whittier


Gail Evanoff

Member – Chenega

Gail has called Chenega home and lived there with her husband and four children since the village reestablished over 30 years ago. Many wonderful changes and improvements have been made to the school since its doors first opened and classes were held in a one-room classroom. Gail has been an active member of the Education Advisory Committee for many years and holds the belief that it is the development of the whole child that helps students experience success and become productive citizens.
With a BA in Social Work, Gail has strived to provide cultural insight and awareness that some social problems could contribute to the academic success of students.
Gail previously served as Advisory member before her election to the CSD board in 2018.


Our vision is to serve as a trusted collective voice for our district while promoting strong ethics, integrity, quality and equitable education for all students.
What Drives Us

Our Mission

Our mission is to provide visionary leadership through the establishment of a equitable education system focusing on strong ethics, accountability, and advocacy for the success of our students. Pursue the advancement of student achievement and well-being through effective partnerships with staff, families, stakeholders, and our community members.